Turda salt mine

13 Jul

While I was home last year, my sister took me to see Turda salt mine telling me I’d be surprised. My first surprise came when seeing so many cars in the parking lot in front of the main entrance and especially so many buses… We are still not that used with tourists poking their noses around 🙂 .

Salt has been exploited in Salina Turda (or Turda salt mine) as far as anybody can remember… Not that anybody really cared about it: I mean, yes, we have always had clear salt on our tables but we never actually gave a serious thought as to its provenance.

Only in 2010 when the mine reopened its gate after undergoing a serious renovation the tourists started flowing. What you can see is a gorgeous futurist mine – and let me tell you that 108m drop appearing out of nowhere after a long walk through the long gallery really leaves you agape – with weird-shaped constructions, lights flowing from the rooftop, high pathways all along the walls of the cave which you might enjoy unless you’re afraid of heights and a lake and park down below. I started the high pathway but after the first 15 metres I thought better and turned around 😉 .

In case you decide to take the stairs to the bottom – which we did –  (there are loads but you can also wait for the elevator) you might decide to rest on one of the benches, take a stroll and just enjoy the view or rent a boat and row it on the underground lake. And if you take your kids along, there are slides , mini golf or  mini bowling, a tennis table and a panoramic wheel, but the last one didn’t seem to work while I was there.

We actually just took a stroll, I fancied renting a boat which might have been kind of romantic with all those lights but I’m not that fond of queuing so I gave up.

Unfortunately there is no tour guide so, unless you’ve come already prepared, you’ll have no one to answer your perplexities in case you’d have any.

One last word, there are 12 decrees C inside so you might consider bringing a jacket. And enjoy!


4 Responses to “Turda salt mine”

  1. ancutza July 14, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    wow, it’s such an amazing place…it could be the perfect set for a science-fiction movie:)!

  2. dusty laces July 17, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Isn’t it? I’ve read somewhere they are filming the last Batman here but I’m not sure it’s true..

  3. dana January 3, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    It is indeed a good place to film a scene from the movie but this place is best benefits in treating lung disease.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Turda Salt Mines in Romania Might be the New Batcave - TechBlogger - September 3, 2011

    […] Photo credit: Dustylaces […]

Leave a Reply

