Off the beaten track destinations

9 Mar

I’ve never really walked in anyone’s shoes and I’ve always preferred the path to the highway as an attitude to life in general. So, speaking of travelling, I have always been a sucker for hidden gems, unknown places or less photographed spots and, even if I visited more than 20 countries and 230 cities, I still have to see Paris or Berlin and I visited London only a couple of months ago for work reasons. It doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate these places, I just feel the crowd’s gaze could somehow depersonalize them and I find it more difficult to relate to.

So I can help but reply to the contest  Lumeamare organized on their blog in which, in order to win a book, I have to give them a list of 5 of my preferred less travelled destinations and of other 5 I’d like to go to. So here we go:

5 of my preferred hidden gems

1. Chefchaouen – Morocco

It’s a village in the Rif Montains on the northern part of Morocco, I arrived there on a 4 hour bus ride from Fes and stood there only for a day but I would have loved to stay longer. Especially after all the hustle and bustle of the imperial cities, going there is like a breath of fresh air. The very laid back atmosphere, the few tourists, the peace and quiet of the surroundings and the typically blue-coloured houses make this place a magical town.

2. Freycinet National Park – Tasmania (Australia)

Some years ago I spent a couple of weeks in Tasmania, most of which doing some healthy trekking through the unspoiled stunning nature of Freycinet National Park: very old forests, virgin sandy beaches, strange wild animals. Unfortunately I didn’t have a good camera back then so the pics are not doing any justice to the gorgeous background.

3.  Porthcurno beach and Saint Michael’s Mount- Cornwall (UK)

All of Cornwall is just so different from what one expects from England: nice weather, exotic vegetation, turquoise beaches. In Maranzion I also found the smaller brother of the much more famous Le Mont-Saint-Michel in Normandy, which also bears  the same name: Saint Michael’s Mount. Same low tide allows the curious traveller to cover the distance to the hill on foot, visit the castle and its exotic gardens. I haven’t seen the Normandy one yet but the Cornwall castle is nothing short of amazing.

4. Kylemore Abbey – Connemara (Ireland)

It appears that the house was built as a castle and only afterwards it became an abbey. Regardless of its use I’ll probably always remember the first look I laid upon it as it emerged splendidly from between two green valleys.

5.  Parco Sigurta’ – Valeggio sul Mincio (Italy)

My last choice is a park close to where I live, it’s not that unknown, but for the foreign traveller for sure is not on top of the things-to-do-while-in-Italy list. It’s a huge park, very well taken care of and beautiful in every season. I was there last year in April when the tulips were blooming and the view was just mesmerizing.

5 of some hidden gems I’d like to see

1. The coloured terraces of Yunnan – China

Wikipedia

 

Wikipedia

2. The Golden Temple – Amristar, Punjab (India)

 

Wikipedia

 

3. Gole dell’Alcantara – Sicilia (Italy)

Wikipedia

4. Roussillon – Provence (France)

National Geographic

5. Salar de Uyuni – Bolivia

Wikipedia

2 Responses to “Off the beaten track destinations”

  1. Adriana March 9, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    Foarte frumoase locurile une ai fost!!!!

Leave a Reply

