Dear March or ‘Martisor’

26 Feb

Since 1st of March is just around the corner and this is my first post I’ d like to tell you about Martisor, a holiday celebrated in Romania at the beginning of March. The first day of the month, boys and men offer girls or women this martisor, a token that celebrates the beginning of the spring and that literally means ‘Little March’ or ‘Dear March’. They are little amulets of all shapes and colours, attached to a red and white string, but the most common ones are chimney sweeps, four-leaf clovers or horseshoes.

It’s a nice thing to receive a martisor, especially if accompanied by snowdrops, freesias or any other spring flowers and women wear it gladly pinned to their clothes for the first 2 weeks of the month.

When I was young I used to wear 2 or 3 at the time and chimney sweeps were my favorite ones :). They are supposed to bring you luck and fortune for the year to come. I don’t remember if that really happened, all I remember is that I loved wearing them, I used to pin them proudly on every blouse I wore and I always kept them in a little box for the following years so that eventually I ended up owning tons :).

If you feel like paying a visit to Romania, you can take advantage of the really low cost flights like Wizzair, Blue Air, Carpatair, from almost everywhere around Europe.

2 Responses to “Dear March or ‘Martisor’”

  1. Ancutza February 26, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    break a leg!:)

  2. dusty laces February 26, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

